Waikato Draught Logo

Waikato Draught Sprint




Racing in Hamilton began over 140 years ago when the local Military Commander arranged a sports day that included four horse races. 


The Waikato Draught Sprint is now run every year during the February Racing Carnival at Te Rapa Race course. The most famous winner of the Sprint in recent years is undoubtedly Sunline in the 2001, 2002 races.