Waikato Draught Logo

Waikato Rugby Union



Waikato Draught and the Waikato Rugby Union share a long and proud partnership dating back to the 1950’s. Waikato Rugby have been consistent performers in the National Provincial Championships and took out the inaugural Air New Zealand Cup introduced in 2006. Highlights have been taking the Springboks head of the touring South African Team in 1956 and ending Auckland Rugby’s record breaking run holding the Ranfurly shield in 1993. Winning the National Provincial Championship in 1992 as well as multiple victories over international touring teams make the WRU one of the most successful rugby unions in the country.